The American Welding Society (AWS) Foundation is pleased to announce that $2.5 million in scholarships have been awarded to support welding students across North America.

In 2023, more than 1,500 welding students received scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $8,000 or more, with recipients attending 430 different academic and training institutions in 47 U.S. States and two Canadian provinces.

Schools receiving the most scholarships were (by number of scholarships, then dollar amount):

  • 122 | $319,000 –  Ferris State University – Big Rapids, MI
  •    81 | $101,500 – Hobart Institute of Welding Technology – Troy, OH
  •    42 | $  42,500 – Missouri Welding Institute – Nevada, MO
  •    41 | $129,750 – Pennsylvania College of Technology – Williamsport, PA
  •    33 | $  40,000 – American Welding Academy – Union, MO
  •    29 | $105,250 – Ohio State University – Columbus, OH
  •    26 | $  81,250 – LeTourneau University – Longview, TX
  •    26 | $  46,750 – Arkansas Elite Welding Academy – Quitman, AR
  •    23 | $  24,000 – Western Welding Academy – Gillette, WY
  •    22 | $  26,000 – Tulsa Welding School – Tulsa, OK

The AWS Foundation offers scholarships for every level of welding education. In fact, sixty-six percent of scholarships were awarded to students in short-term training programs, meant to rapidly train individuals to meet the growing demand for skilled welders.

The AWS Foundation is committed to fostering an industry that embraces inclusivity. Females represented 25% of this year’s scholarship recipients, far outpacing the current welding industry participation rate of 7.9%.

“As the construction and manufacturing industries continue to face hiring challenges for all skilled trade occupations, our efforts to support welding education are more important than ever,” said AWS Foundation Executive Director Monica Pfarr. “Our donors, and the members of the American Welding Society, have shown a tremendous commitment to ensuring the welding industry is well positioned for continued growth in the years to come.”

Applications are now open for 2024 scholarships at The deadline to apply for AWS National, District, and Section Scholarships is March 1, 2024.

About AWS Foundation: The AWS Foundation was established by the American Welding Society on September 13, 1989, to support programs that ensure the growth and development of the welding industry through strengthening research and educational opportunities in welding and related industries. Led by a volunteer Board of Trustees, the Foundation is organized as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) charitable organization. Administration, including program development, fundraising, public relations, marketing, and financial management is provided by a small development staff of the American Welding Society. Its operations are conducted from the Society’s offices in Miami, Florida. For more information, visit

Exit mobile version